Blue Distinction Centers® Recognized experience in specialty care

The Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association’s (BCBSA) Blue Distinction program gives you access to quality-of-care information to help you make educated decisions about the specialty care you receive. The Blue Distinction Center designation identifies facilities that:

  • Have extensive experience in one or more categories of specialty care
  • Meet rigorous quality standards
  • Consistently demonstrate positive care results

What is specialty care?

Specialty care includes:

  • Bariatric surgery
  • Cardiac care
  • Knee and hip replacement
  • Maternity care
  • Spine surgery
  • Transplants

Blue Distinction Centers+

Blue Distinction is evolving with an ongoing eye toward quality improvement, while being mindful of the increasing focus on cost containment and value-based purchasing. What began as a designation based purely on quality is now being refined to also become a designation awarded to facilities that first meet more stringent quality measures (focused increasingly on patient safety and outcomes), and then also meet new cost measures; therefore, under this program, a facility can qualify for a Blue Distinction Center+ designation (meets both quality and cost criteria) or Blue Distinction Center designation (only meets quality criteria). Blue Distinction Center+ designation is currently available for the specialties listed above.

Find a Blue Distinction Center

Facilities that have attained the Blue Distinction Center designation will be marked in the online Find a Doctor tool.

For a complete listing of the more than 1,800 Blue Distinction Centers for specialty care nationwide1, including those within the Independence Blue Cross provider network, please visit the BCBSA website.

Learn More About Provider Quality

Want to know more? Log in to to review additional data about doctor and hospital performance quality.

1 Number of Blue Distinction Centers as of June 2016