Updated InterQual® Guidelines for 2011

McKesson Health Solutions, an independent company, has made significant changes to the Level of Care Criteria for 2011. Starting in July, we will implement the revised InterQual guidelines.

The InterQual Acute Criteria are moving towards a condition-specific focus and have begun a transition away from body-system subsets. This represents a significant change from the intensity of service and severity of illness approach. Providers should note that the new guidelines will require the provision of more detailed information on the treatment plans, including medication administration. The 2011 criteria for which there are condition-specific subsets for adults are:

  • Acute Coronary Syndrome
  • Asthma
  • Epilepsy
  • Heart failure
  • Pneumonia
  • Stroke/TIA

The 2011 criteria with condition-specific subsets for pediatrics are: Asthma, Croup, Epilepsy, and Pneumonia.

For more information on the condition-specific subsets in the 2011 Acute Criteria, please visit www.McKesson.com under Providers/Hospitals.